Skip to content

Ocoee River / Whitewater Center

Ocoee River / Whitewater Center

ready for some whitewater

The Ocoee River is known as one of the best whitewater rafting destinations. We have plenty of outfitters to help you on your next adventure as well as kayak and fishing guides.

Contact
Ocoee River
Ocoee, TN 37361
More Information
Site of the 1996 Olympic Canoe and Kayak Slalom Races, the Ocoee River hosts several whitewater events each year. Commercial river outfitters offer expert guides to help you capture the excitement of the Class III and Class IV rapids. Whitewater enthusiasts can now take guided trips on the Olympic Race Channel, located at the Ocoee Whitewater Center. Check with the Tennessee Overhill for water schedules, or contact the Ocoee-Hiwassee Ranger Station.

Floating, canoeing and rafting constitute the major attraction for both the Hiwassee and Ocoee Rivers. Based on the International Scale of River Difficulty, the rivers have Class I, II, III, IV and V rapids. While both locations are exceptional white water settings, users should be aware that even placid looking streams are potentially hazardous for those unskilled and unfamiliar with the basic techniques of floating or water safety.

Plan your adventure

Ocoee River Outfitters

Adventures Unlimited – 423-338-4325 – www.adventuresunlimited.net
Big Frog Expeditions – 877-776-2633www.ocoeeriver.biz
Cherokee Rafting – 800-451-4238www.cherokeerafting.com
Cascade Outdoors – 800-338-7238www.cascadeoutdoors.com
Eagle Adventure Company – 800-288-3245www.eagleadventures.com
High Country Adventures – 800-233-8594www.hcrivers.com
Nantahala Outdoor Expedition – 888-905-7238www.noc.com
Ocoee Adventure Center – 800-627-7636 www.ocoeeadventurecenter.com
Ocoee Adventure Rafting – 800-627-7636www.raft.com
Ocoee Outdoors – 800-533-7767www.ocoeeoutdoors.com
Ocoee Rafting – 800-251-4800www.ocoeerafting.com
Ocoee River Rats – 877-388-4222www.ocoeeriverrats.com
Outland Expeditions – 800-827-1442www.outlandexpeditions.com
Quest Expeditions – 800-277-4537www.questexpeditions.com
Raft One – 800-723-8663www.raft1.com
Rolling Thunder River Co – 800-408-7238www.rollingthunderriverco.com
Sunburst Adventures – 800-247-8388www.sunburstrafting.com
Whitewater Express – 800-676-7238www.whitewaterexpress.com
Wildwater LTD. – 877-451-9972www.wildwaterrafting.com

Kayak Instruction

Ocoee Adventure Center – 800-627-7636 – www.ocoeeadventurecenter.com

What People Are Saying

[vc_wp_text]

Road trip

Linda, NC.

This was a very beautiful drive. It had a lot of overlooks and the trees were very beautiful. We also rode over to Joyce Kilmer Forest. This was a very nice hike and was amazing to see all the older trees. I would advise to take a bathroom break before the trip across the mountain.

Unbelievable beauty

dbauman, TN

Incredible drive through the Cherokee National Forest. Lots of hiking, waterfalls and mountain streams. Areas of the skyway are rather curvy, so beware. Some like to speed through this area either in road rally’s or on motorcycle. Have seen several severe accidents. A MUST visit for all the beauty!

Gorgeous views

Mike, AL.

We were surprised at how beautiful this route is. Sadly, our trip was cut short from annual undergrowth burning. We will definitely come back this way.

Awesome road and view

Illinois

Nice smooth road that’s a lot of fun with beautiful sights. There’s plenty of pull offs for photos and small hikes and it makes a really nice scenic drive.
Ocoee

Beautiful

Bruce, MS.

We were in town to view the fall foliage. We hit it just right. This drive is magnificent. Several viewing sights along the way. Take advantage of all if possible.
[/vc_wp_text]

See For Yourself

[instagram-feed type=”hashtag” hashtag=”#awesome”]

Places to stay near here

FIND COMFORT NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE

The Tennessee Overhill region covers several areas that are full of wonderful places to stay. No matter where you end up, you can rest easy knowing days full of fun and adventure await!

58b4a21a7730f

Red Roof Inn

If you'd like to book a room or find out more information, please click here.